REVIEW: Slaughterhouse-Five

Last year Kurt Vonnegut came into my life and I fell in love at a Hemingway level (see here). So it was only natural that I would add Kurt’s most famous classic to my list this year, Slaughterhouse-Five. It is now tied with Turtle Diary for my favorite book of the year.

From Vonnegut’s succinct and poignant style, to the plot, to the characters, to the black humor, to the unique perspective on topical issues…I can’t find a flaw. What fascinates me about Vonnegut most is how seamlessly he integrates science fictional elements into novels which would otherwise be characterized as modern realism. Vonnegut uses this tool in Slaughterhouse-Five to bring into focus themes of free will, suffering, warfare, and ethics – very down to earth elements. While Billy Pilgrim (our narrator’s lead) is a relatively fantastical character, his journey is true to human nature.

Slaughterhouse-Five has become a staple of American literature for a reason. Its honesty. Vonnegut takes the dark and complicated aspects of what it means to live in this society and strips them down to their truest form, to expose what is at the heart of life. So it goes.

 

Rating: 5 Poo-tee-weets

5 thoughts on “REVIEW: Slaughterhouse-Five

  1. I didn’t read this Vonnegut, but I loved the movie and from what I read at that time, the movie stuck fairly close to the book so it may be worth watching.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I loved this book way back when. I really need to go back and re-read this. I also completely agree about loving Hemingway and Vonnegut. They are two of my favorites! We really do have very similar tastes in books & authors!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

