REVIEW: The Sound of Things Falling

While actively involved in the reading of Juan Gabriel Vasquez’s The Sound of Things Falling, I was drawn into the story, which moved along quickly. However, during those periods when the book was not in my hand, I was never dying to go back to it, and, quite frankly, forgot it was what I was reading. Thus making The Sound of Things Falling a difficult novel to review.

I have been racking my brain to figure out exactly why this novel left little to no impression on me whenever I stepped away from it (I have consequently discovered that I am not the only one who feels this way, easing my mind – shout out to R). I cannot quite put my finger on it, but I’ve concluded it is the fault of the narrator.

The plot is strong in terms of uncovering the life of Ricardo Laverde (great character), and Vasquez has an easy, raw style that is perfectly appealing. But, he lost me with the narrator, Antonio. I didn’t despise poor Antonio, but I…well…I just didn’t care much about him. Or his perspective. Or his fate.

It is not my intention to sound bratty – but, IMHO, the character is a nonentity who evoked neither a negative nor positive reaction. AND I DON’T KNOW WHY, AND IT IS DRIVING ME NUTS. I’d rather hate a character than think nothing of one, then I could at least give you a proper rant on all his shortcomings – but, here I am, with nothing to say.

So. Read this book – many, due to the literary attributes of Vazquez’s writing, love it. But. Also read this book so you can help me figure out why this man means nothing to me. Please.

Rating: 3.5 ???

3 thoughts on “REVIEW: The Sound of Things Falling

Leave a Reply

